management & measurement

Monday’s Twitter #TOSAchat centered on goals. Participants were asked to select either personal or professional goal(s). One of the follow-up questions centered on tracking that goal. 

You can’t manage what you don’t measure. 

Makes sense. And, I admit that I have a horrible track record of measuring and assessing personal goals. So, I’ve decided to start a weekly check-in for my personal goals. Of course, I’ll be using my tried and true pocket notebooks. 

I like using the pocket notebooks because it has a layer of privacy and also because I am oldAF. Just kidding, but I do sometimes feel old! The last four years, I have used a similar system for my TOSA work. 

That analog system works well for me because I can quickly go back to my bulleted lists. I can quickly track progress, and readjust if needed. And, it never needs charging or system updates!